Skip navigation

The 2023 Ecosse Junior 1000 season kicks off with the Memorial Garden Junior Stages Rally this Saturday, March 25th at the Condor Royal Navy Base near Arbroath.

With a fantastic 13 crews on the entry list, it’s anyone’s guess who will come out on top.

With the reigning champion Sam Pattison now a senior Jack Ryan & Robin Nicolson top the entry list in their VW Up. Always a podium contender they’ll be looking to continue that form in 2023.

Oliver Phillips & Barry Young took the win at the final round in Anglesey, showing themselves as championship contenders for this season. They are seeded in front of Rian Walker & Stuart McBride. Rian & Stuart will be debuting a new, left-hand-drive Skoda Citigo and will be gunning for the top spot this year.

Thomas Milne & Neil Jeffrey were the standout Nissan Micra crew in 2022, Thomas known for getting the absolute maximum out of the car at every opportunity. The car is pressed back into service again for this season and they line up ahead of former Micra crew Ollie Forrester & George Myatt. Ollie, who was one of the standouts at the recent Knockhill training day, heads into his 1st full junior season in his newly finished, self-built Skoda Citigo.

Also moving into a Citigo, Ruan Lowry & Ian McRae garnered a reputation in 2022 for an enthusiastic approach to the driving that would unfortunately bite them on occasion. They’ll be looking for more consistency this year to be more competitive.

Alfie Letham retains the ex-Johnnie Mackay Micra for 2023 and welcomes the experienced Craig Wallace back in the hotseat for round 1. Alfie was one of the most improved drivers through the course of last season.

Another candidate for 2022’s most improved, Lucy Cree returns for her 2nd season with Chloe Fleming back in the co-drivers seat. Last year’s Spirit of the Championship Award winners line up ahead of Aaron Dickson & Alan Edwards. Aaron another entering his 1st full season in his 107 and this will be his 2nd experience of Arbroath.

Lauchlan Hunter heads up the list of debutants with Gordon Finnie alongside. Lauchlan debuting the 1st 3-cylinder Yaris the championship has seen. A bigger car to look at compared to the Citigos but it will be interesting to see how it performs.

Jairaj Jutley, known as JJ, makes his debut in the championship behind the wheel of the ex-Fraser Mack 107 with Fraser’s regular navigator Ted Runciman alongside. Motorsport is in the family; JJ’s Dad works with the FIA.

Thomas Babb is the next newcomer in his Skoda Citigo. Paul Gribben sits alongside him, fresh from a top 5 finish on the recent Snowman Rally alongside Angus Lawrie. They’re seeded just ahead of Amie Wallace & Keith Morris. Daughter of well-known North-east rally man Alan, Amie lines up in the sole surviving Toyota Aygo in the series.

As the event takes place on private ground, no spectators are allowed.

Results on the day will be available on

%d bloggers like this: