Skip navigation

Tag Archives: BTRDA Asphalt Rally Series

Another varied weekend up in the Scottish Borders. With no Irish crews this year the International rally was all about the BRC. Craig Breen & Gareth Roberts (Fiesta S2000) took the lead after stage 1 before Keith Cronin & Barry McNulty (Impreza N15) took the lead until an excursion into a wall on the final stage of the day which saw Breen take over at the top overnight. Breen then extended his lead over the first loop of Saturday before increasing his advantage further on stage 9 when Cronin punctured and dropped to 4th overall. Disaster then struck as Breen retired on stage 10 with major engine damage after a mechanical failure. Alastair Fisher & Rory Kennedy (Evo IX) now led Gwyndaf Evans & Chris Patterson (Evo X) by just over 11 seconds. On stage Evans took the lead and extended it out to half a minute to take victory for the 2nd BRC round in a row. Fisher was a fine 2nd with Cronin have a trying event but happy to finish in the final podium place. Read More »

Glorious weather all weekend on the Isle of Man resulted in one of the fastest Manx National rallies on record. Paul Bird & Kirsty Riddick (Focus WRC) returned to defend their title from 2009 and ultimately ended up winning back to back titles. The winning margin was over 3 minutes, but they had been kept honest throughout by the reigning British Rally Champions Keith Cronin & Barry McNulty (Impreza N15). Cronin was on the island with the TEG team testing damper and suspension settings ahead of the International Rally in July before crashing out on the penultimate stage. 2nd overall went to the local crew Steven Quine & Richard Skinner (Evo VI) with the final podium spot going to Damian Cole & Craig Drew (Focus WRC) who had suffered clutch problems all event. Read More »

Mewla 09 (13)Damp conditions and drizzle for most of the day made the Mewla most autumnal, but with one of the best quality fields set to tackle the ranges in years all was set for an excllent event. The conditions made tyre choice a lottery and with several delays and cancelled stages the event was very stop start. The initial pace was set by Chris Jones & Ashley Trimble (Focaru) before Peter Lloyd & Graham Handley (Impreza WRC) took over at the top. Once the longer stages came in to play Melvyn Evans & Sean Mullally took over at the top, in their Impreza WRC, but with two stages to go an engine fault lead to their retirement at service. Peter Lloyd took over at the top, which he held until the end of the event, to make August a great month for the reigning King of Epynt. Read More »

Midlands 09 (3)The Rally of the Midlands was one of attrition. On the opening evening Gary Le Coadou blew his propshaft on the startline of stage 4 at Mallory Park. By lunchtime on the Saturday cars 1-4 had all retired due to various reasons.  This left an interesting battle for the win with Mark Welch & Andy Wynn (Escort Cosworth) eventually victorious after a day long three way battle. Second place went to the Opel Astra kit car of Chris Wood & Stephen Ritchie some 9 seconds behind after taking a 10 second time penalty for a late departure from parc ferme. The podium was completed by Mark Holmes & Tony Lindsay (Metro 6R4) who were 56 seconds behind almost all of which could be accounted for by doing an extra lap at Bramcote in the morning! Read More »

epynt09-no2An excellent day up on the Epynt military ranges saw Melvyn Evans & Gareth Roberts crush the opposition with a dominant victory in their Subaru Impreza WRC. With the conditions damp and greasy 2008 winners John Dalton & Gwynfor Jones could not get the power down in their Darrian on the first loop, losing the best part of a minute. The gap steadily grew as Evans stamped his authority on the event but Dalton was best of the rest in second place.

David Kynaston & Andy Russell completed the podium positions in the ever popular Audi Quattro A3, with Damian Cole & Martin Henry fourth in their Hyundai Accent WRC. Special mention must go to fifth place crew Simon Mauger & Brian Cammack who beat several World Rally Cars and numerous other 4WD crews, with spirited driving in their Escort MkII. Chris Jones & Richard Williams won the BTRDA Asphalt Rally Series section in their unique Focaru. Read More »