Skip navigation

Tag Archives: David Stokes

BHRC David Stokes awardThe rallying career and character of David Stokes will be remembered with a new end-of-season award within the Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship.

This special award, supported by Castrol, will celebrate the life of the four-time BHRC champion who was challenging for a fifth crown when taken ill last summer. After a short battle with cancer, David died in February. Read More »

Our first visit to Aberfeldy for the Colin McRae Forest Stages was also the first visit for the BHRC crews and was also their championship finale. Conditions on the day of the rally were certainly challenging with heavy rain and fog blighting the stages. Unsurprisingly it was experience that shone through as Stig Blomqvist & Anna Goni (Escort MkII) took a comfortable victory from Simon Tysoe & Cliffy Simmons (Escort MkII) with David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) just behind in 3rd overall. However Stokes took the post Historic class victory and had done more than enough to secure back to back titles. His only challenger Rikki Proffitt, co-driven by Phill Harrison in his Porsche 911, broke a driveshaft on the final stage and retired from the event. They also needed to win their class and hope Stokes would slip up, neither of which happened. Read More »