Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Fiesta SportChallenge

The Next Big Step (NBS) programme was instigated in 2011, when founder Ian Arden took the decision to donate his rally prize to help young drivers take the – you guessed it – next big step in their rallying careers.

Three drivers who have benefitted from the scheme will attend next week’s MSA British Rally Championship Media Launch, two of them already having made the move into the championship.

Cumbria’s Aaron McClure was the NBS’s first selection, chosen from the successful Junior 1000 rally series for 14 to 17 year olds, He stepped neatly, via the BTRDA’s RallyFirst series in 2012, to the BRC’s support series last year with some success. Read More »

AaronMcClureR2test19 year old rising rally star Aaron McClure will look to capitalise on his result in last year’s NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge as he moves into a Ford Fiesta R2 for the 2014 season.  The Next Big Step award winner has achieved some notable results since his inaugural season in the Formula 1000 Junior series back in 2009 and after a year in the competitive British Rally Championship feeder series, the Flookburgh youngster is keen to further his career with the acquisition of the ex-John MacCrone machine. Read More »

AaronMcClurePR12Having already wrapped up the FiestaSport Challenge title on the penultimate round of the NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge in Yorkshire, championship front runner Aaron McClure will head to Dorset next weekend as he tackles the seventh and final round of the series, Rallye Sunseeker. 19 year old McClure cannot afford to relax however as there are still class honours at stake for the Flookburgh resident. With the hotly contested RC4 title up for grabs on the 40 mile gravel event in the forests in the South of England, McClure will not be able to let his guard down as he contests the Poole based event for the very first time. Read More »

The 2013 NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge (NGK BRCC) will not only again feature the Fiesta SportChallenge, but will see also see the introduction of a new series, the Clio 172 Rally Cup.

The NGK BRCC provides competitors with some of the best value stage mileage in the UK, it runs in front of the BRC field on gravel rallies and has a massive £7000 end of season prize fund, has heralded fantastic competition and is shaping up to be even better this season.

Brand new for 2013 will see the inaugural running of the Clio 172 Rally Cup. Promoted by and based on a Renault Clio 172 Cup road car, the series is intended to provide a low cost solution that packs plenty of performance. Read More »

With the recent announcement from the Citroën Racing Trophy, the MSA British Rally Championship, NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge, sponsors and support series, are now offering around £200,000 worth of prizes.

Probably the biggest prize comes from Pirelli in the form of the Pirelli Star Driver competition. This year’s winner from the end of season shootout will receive funded support for 2013 and although the details have not been published, it will be a similar value to previous years.

The Citroën Racing Trophy’s on-event prize money is split over the five reaming events in the BRC calendar, but it is further incentivised with a drive for the winner on Rallye du Var, the final round of the French Rally Championship. Read More »

Round 2 of the BTRDA championship saw the crews head to the Lake District for what would prove to be a gripping battle. Fastest out of the box were Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) who set fastest times over the first two stages taking a healthy lead into the first Greystoke stage. Sadly the gearbox gave up in Greystoke and Hunter retired from what was a very promising position. Taking over in the lead with fastest time on stage 3 was Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth). Burton went into Grizedale with a 12 second lead over Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) and came out with a 4 second lead over Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC). Read More »

Once again our main focus on this trip was the BHRC runners and the conclusion of Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship. With the title going down to a three way battle between David Stokes, Dessie Nutt and  Jonathan Gale there was plenty to play for. After the first stage it was already down to a battle between two as Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride retired their Porsche 911. Gale, co-driven by James Whitaker, now had to hold his nerve and concentrate on finishing and hoping someone could beat Stokes in category 2. Gale took the Historic section of the rally but only just by 1.8s from Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Amazon). In the post Historics Stefaan Stouf & Joris Erard (Escort MkI) returned to the British forests to follow up their 2009 win on the Trackrod, also taking a fine 3rd overall behind the leading two Escort MkII’s. Read More »

Treacherous conditions greeted the crews on the opening stages of the Malcolm Wilson rally. They caught out Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) on stage 2, dropping a minute to their main rivals Paul Bird & Kirsty Riddick (Focus WRC). After slowly clawing back time the advantage had reduced to 41 seconds before Bird suffered a double puncture on the penultimate stage, leading to his retirement. Perez took an unlikely victory by 17 seconds from Jonathan Greer & Jonny Hart in an older Focus WRC which they were using for the first time. Over a minute further back were Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza) took the final place on the podium beating Paul Benn & Richard Cooke (Focus WRC) on a count back. Read More »