Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Fiesta SportTrophy

Dean Raftery / Aileen Kelly Ford FiestaGalway rally ace Dean Raftery will head across the Irish Sea this week to contest the final round of the MSA British Rally Championship, Rally Isle of Man. Offering two points scoring opportunities, the fondly named “Manx” will be the most important event in the Irishman’s rallying career as he aims to secure the RallyTwo, FiestaSport Trophy and BRC2 championship honours.  With three long days of closed public road rallying ahead, Raftery and regular co-driver Aileen Kelly need to master the unique roads around the small island from the very first stage if they are to take the silverware back to Galway. Read More »

Aaron McClure / Tom Woodburn Ford FiestaCumbrian rally star Aaron McClure will make the relatively short trip to Yorkshire this weekend as he contests the penultimate round of the 2013 NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge (NGKBRCC), The Trackrod Rally Yorkshire. With just one round remaining in the six event championship, a win on the gravel roads of the Dalby forest complex will mean McClure cannot be caught in the Fiesta SportTrophy Challenge and would take victory in the M-Sport Ford backed series. Read More »

Jukka Korhonen and Marko Salminen finished the final stage of the Pirelli Richard Burns Foundation Rally 42.5 seconds clear of the chasing pack, making the 29 year old the first Finn to win a round of the MSA British Rally Championship since Jari-Matti Latvala ten year ago.

The pair led from start to finish in their Citroën DS3 R3T, building a lead of around a minute before easing off on Sunday when Alastair Fisher/Gordon Noble’s early challenge was curtailed by a puncture on Saturday’s fifth stage.

The victory was a smooth one; car and team working seamlessly on the eighty mile event, with Korhonen admitting that he had speed to spare if needed. With the win comes a maximum points haul towards a championship title that he had vowed to win as long ago as last year – so far, so good. Read More »

This year’s MSA British Manufacturers’ title is a three-way battle between the brands: Citroën, Renault and Ford. Scores towards the title are calculated from the two leading cars from each of the manufacturers.

With Citroën DS3 drivers Keith Cronin scoring his third victory of the season and Osian Pryce claiming his first ever BRC podium with an excellent third place, it means that Citroën UK has extended its lead in the manufacturer’s championship and currently stands on 183 points. Elfyn Evans’ stunning second place in his Ford Fiesta R2, coupled with Matthew Cathcart’s impressive sixth in his similar car, sees Ford Motor Company consolidate its second place on 151 points, whilst the lone finisher for Renault UK Garry Pearson means that they remain third on 133. Read More »

MSA British Rally Championship competitors will not only be battling for overall positions when they congregate in Antrim for round five of the six-round 2012 season – the Todds Leap International Rally NI – held this Friday and Saturday. Some will also be fighting for points in the five support championships and three manufacturer one-make series’ that are included in this season’s BRC. And HERE’s how they stand:

This year’s MSA British Manufacturers’ title is a three-way battle of the brands: Citroën, Renault and Ford, with scores towards the title calculated from each of the manufacturers’ two leading cars. Read More »

British Rally Championship star Matt Cotton banished the memories of his 2008 crash when he finished a creditable 13th overall and 2nd in class on last weekend’s Pirelli International Rally.  Partnered by co-driver Glyn Thomas, the rapid Cornishman from St Teath endured a hard fought battle with AVS Motorsport team mate Gethin Jones throughout the 96 competitive stage miles in Cumbria to lose out on a win by a scant 8.1 seconds at the finish. Read More »

Cornishman Matt Cotton will head to Cumbria next weekend when he contests the 3rd round of the British Rally Championship, The Pirelli International Rally. With a solid finish on the first two rounds of the series, Cotton has high hopes of obtaining a good result in the infamous Kielder forests. Read More »

British Rally Championship contender Matt Cotton finished on the podium once again last weekend when he contested the second round of the world renowned series, The Bulldog International Rally of North Wales.  Cotton piloted his AVS Motorsport run Ford Fiesta ST to a worthy 18th overall and 2nd in class, ensuring he remains in the championship title hunt for the remaining rounds of the season. Read More »

After a dramatic day’s action, Tom Cave and co-driver Craig Parry emerged winners of the Bulldog International Rally of North Wales and in doing so, recorded their first MSA British Rally Championship victory.

They finished just three seconds ahead of Keith Cronin/Marshall Clarke, who were in-turn 11.7 seconds ahead of Jarkko Nikara/Petri Nikara – all three crews in Citroën DS3s and proving once again that the BRC’s two-wheel-drive formula provides ultra-close competition. Read More »

With the recent announcement from the Citroën Racing Trophy, the MSA British Rally Championship, NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge, sponsors and support series, are now offering around £200,000 worth of prizes.

Probably the biggest prize comes from Pirelli in the form of the Pirelli Star Driver competition. This year’s winner from the end of season shootout will receive funded support for 2013 and although the details have not been published, it will be a similar value to previous years.

The Citroën Racing Trophy’s on-event prize money is split over the five reaming events in the BRC calendar, but it is further incentivised with a drive for the winner on Rallye du Var, the final round of the French Rally Championship. Read More »