Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Grizedale Stages

Ollie Mellors gave the Proton Iriz R5 its fourth UK gravel rally win in a row last weekend, snatching victory on the final stage of the Grizedale Forest Rally (7th December) after a gutsy drive, despite suffering significant time loss in the early stages of the event. Read More »

Wet and windy conditions gripped Grizedale forest as Ollie Mellors & Ian Windress (Iriz R5) took a 45s victory from Jock Armstrong & Cameron Fair (Impreza) but it has been far as simple as that. On the openong stage Mellors was the only competitor under 10 minutes some 23s faster than his nearest rival but 40s dropped on the following stage saw Armstrong leading from Thomas Preston & Carl Williamson (Fiesta WRC). Mellors had slipped down to 3rd place before the crews tackled the two runs of Dunnerdale with Preston closing in to just 7s of Armstrong, whilst Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC) had closed in on Mellors for 3rd, just 3s behind. Read More »

After missing last years edition we returned to a windy Lake District to see a full entry tackle the Grizedale Stages. The first run through the 17 mile stage saw Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC) as the only crew to go under 20 minutes. Jock Armstrong & Cameron Fair (Impreza) were 2nd fastest with Josh Moffett & Keith Moriarty (Fiesta R5) 3rd fastest after dropping over half a minute with an early issue on the stage. Moffett then went fastest on the first run through the short Broughton Moor stage before sharing fastest time with Petch on the 2nd run. Read More »

Penrith rally driver Paul Bird’s hopes of adding to his two Grizedale Stages victories ended in Paul Birdretirement on the third stage today after a promising start in his native Lake District.

Along with County Durham co-driver Jack Morton in the Dom Buckley Motorsport/IRS-prepared Ford Focus WRC08, with backing from Frank Bird Poultry, Be Wiser Insurance, Hager, WIX Filters, Silkolene and Loco Energy Drink, Bird was on the pace from the start and held third place after the opening two stages, just two seconds off the leader. Read More »

grizedale16-4Another glorious day up in the Lake District saw Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta R5) back up his 2015 victory with another one in 2016. Donagh Kelly & Conor Foley (Fiesta) was leading after two stages but then retired. David Wright & Steve Pugh (Focus WRC) were 14 seconds back and set joint fastest time with Petch on stage 3. With Stage 4 cancelled, Petch then went fastest on stage 5 with Wright fastest on stage 6 but the final victory margin grew to 16 seconds. Read More »

grizedale15 (9)An excellent rally, in superb wintry conditions, saw a close result in what was a memorable Grizedale Stages. The first pair of stages saw David Wright & Steve Pugh (Focus WRC) set the fastest times to lead 5 seconds from Steve Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta R5) with Ollie Mellors & Ian Windress (Satria Neo) a further second back. Petch dropped back through Grizedale South 1 as Mellors went fastest to close in on Wright by 2 seconds. Stage 4 saw the lead change when Wright spun dropping 22 seconds to Mellors. Read More »

grizedale13 (8)Another glorious day up in the Lake District saw Matthew Wilson & Chris Patterson (Fiesta R5) take a well fought win after 2012 winners Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza) took the initial lead following the two tests through Dunnerdale. With the longer stages that followed Wilson took control and eventually won 46 seconds from Allingham. Paul Bird & Aled Davies (Focus WRC) were close behind in 3rd but a mechanical failure on stage 4 saw them retire allowing Derek McGeehan & Darragh Mullen (Mini WRC) to complete the podium. Read More »

grizedale12 (10)It was an icy one for our first visit to the Grizedale Stages in 3 years. It played it’s part too as 2011 winners Dave Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX) ere early victims on the first stage. Pre-event most people would have picked Paul Bird & Kirsty Riddick (Focus WRC) in car no.2 for the win, but they did not have a good start either and only took the lead on stage 4 after a sluggish time on stage 1 saw Alex Allingham & Mark Glennerster (Impreza). Bird then retired on the final stage which allowed Allingham to take a well deserved and comfortable victory. Read More »

The delights of Grizedale forest were the destination for our final event of the year. Once the seeded entry list was completed everyone expected a victory for the Focus WRC of Paul Bird & Kirsty Riddick but they still had to deliver. They did this with applomb and their final victory margin was just shy of two minutes. Alex Allingham & Mark Glennerster (Impreza) took second place by just 10 seconds from the Focus WRC of Mike O’Brien & Patrick Walsh. The historic section was won by Nick Woodman & Simon Mills (Escort MkII) whilst 1400 honours went to the Nova of Graham Gaskell & Dave Gibson. Read More »

grizedale08-frontA beautiful day up in the Lake District saw Mark Higgins & Nicky Grist take the ex-Carlos Sainz Subaru Impreza 555 to an excellent victory.

In a flawless display they entertained the crowds whilst it was the Mitsubishi Evo’s of Dave Wright, Simon Hughes and Tim Pearcey who took the next 3 places.

With Mike O’Brien fifth, in a more recent model of Focus WRC then he has used previously this season.

Further back Adrian Hetherington was going well in his Escort MkII until he sepctacularly rolled out on the final stage, heading towards our position. This left local young gun Kris Hall to take two wheel drive honours in his Fiesta ST. Read More »