Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Heart of England Championship

agbo15 (1)A crisp start and a glorious day at Weston Park saw a superb day of rallying unfold in front of us. The top trio was an all Escort MkII affair in the end with 2014 winners Oliver & Ben Davies setting fastest time on the opening two stages from Paul Evans & Ashley Trimble, just 3 seconds behind after 2 stages. Roger Moran & Joy Hoyle were up to 3rd after the 2nd stage, by just a single second from Neil Weaver & James Bailey (Darrian T9 GTR). Davies was then fastest and joint fastest on the next pair of stages before the fastest times dried up. The remaining 6 stages were shared between Moran (4) and Evans (2) but Davies kept in the top 3 times throughout to take back-to-back victories by a 4 second margin. Read More »

One year on from Damien Cole’s victory he was looking to make win no.2 of the season in his Focus WRC and with variable weather conditions few would bet against him. However it was the Escort MkII of Simon Mauger & Brian Cammack who defied their power and technology deficit to the WRC machinery around them to take a well deserved win. It was only by 7 seconds as late dramas saw Cole close in, co-driven by James Morgan, but Mauger held on. Completing the podium were previous winners Eian Pritchard & Steve McPhee (Impreza WRC S11) over a minute further back. Read More »

Our local rally hosted the 4th round of the MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, which saw the most impressive field ever to take to these stages. Peter Lloyd & Graham Handley were debuting their Impreza WRC S14 but sadly failed to make it out on day 2. The overnight leaders however were in considerably older technology. In their Escort MkII Simon Mauger & Chris Butcher held a 12 second lead over Damian Cole & Craig Drew (Focus WRC) with championship leaders John Stone & Lee Carter (Fabia WRC) 3rd overnight. All three would feature in the final podium places at the end of the rally as MIRA provided the bulk of the mileage and decided the outcome. Read More »