Skip navigation

Tag Archives: LICO Welsh Clubmans Forest Rally

Coracle 09 (3)Another wet one up at Sweet Lamb, but not unexpected either. We managed to dodge the worst of the rain and the competition more than made up for the poor weather. After an almost faultless run in their Focus WRC Mike O’Brien & Sam Collis followed up there success on the Swansea Bay Clubman rally with another win, just a week later. Damian Cole & Ella Flynn (Accent WRC) were second after losing time on the first stage with a broken diff before mechanical woes struck again later on halting their progress. Completing the top three were Ian & Martyn England in their Evo IX. Read More »


swansea bay 09 (6)The rain dampened down the usual dust we come to expect from this event but it did not dampen the intense battle for victory. The top three seeded crews all led the rally at various points but when gearbox gremlins struck the Impreza WRC of Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield with two stages to go it was down to a two way battle. The Accent WRC of Marcus Dodd & Andrew Bargery led the Focus WRC of Steve Perez & Paul Spooner in to the last stage, but ten seconds dropped was enough to see Perez take victory after suffering road penalties earlier on in the event, (for leaving service late). However 2nd place was enough to confirm Dodd & Bargery as the 2009 National Gravel Champions, making a hat-trick for the crew and 5 in total for Dodd. Duckworth completed the podium half a minute back, whilst fourth place saw Daniel Barry & Martin Brady clinch the Evo Challenge. Read More »

Mid Wales 09 (47)It was another barnstorming event in the HRCR championship with the head of the field being dominated by the Escort MkII’s of Gwyndaf Evans & Gareth Roberts, Nick Elliott & Dave Price along with Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey. Something had to give and Reynolds dropped time with a puncture on stage 4 whilst stage 5 saw the demise of Elliott after a heavy crash towards the end of the stage. So it was Evans who took victory after being third at the half way point. Will Onions & Tim Hobbs came in second overall with the podium for the event and Classics being completed by Paul Griffiths & Sam Collis, (both in Escort MkII’s).

In the post Historics David Stokes & Guy Weaver were victorious from Rupert Lomax & David Alcock. Rounding out the the top three, making it an all Escort MkI affair, were Tim Jones & Don James. In the Historics Jonathan & Graham Gale (Sunbeam Tiger) took victory by just over half a minute from the Volvo Amazon of Graham Waite & Gill Cotton. Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride rounded out the podium in what was the only Porsche 911 entered in this category. Read More »

Severn 09 (2)Dust, dust and more dust but it wouldn’t be a Severn Valley without it! In the Nationals there wasn’t much between the top two as Marcus Dodd & Andrew Bargery took their Accent WRC to 0.6s victory over the Impreza WRC of Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield, who had led from stage 1 of the event until the start of the last stage. Completing the podium, and heading up the Evo Challenge runners in third place, was the Evo IX of Daniel Barry & Martin Brady with yet another cracking performance.

In the Clubmen event Nigel Griffiths & Jon Scott took a start to finish victory in their Impreza from the Focus WRC of Michael O’Brien & Ian Allsop. It had been a close run thing with less than 10 seconds separating the top two all event and the final victory margin falling to just 3.8s. As the front two pulled away it was the Escort MkII of Henri Grehan & Chris Ridge that took 3rd place, winning their class, and beating a significant amount of 4WD machinery in the process. Read More »

bulldog-09-97The Bulldog more than lived up to its billing with great battles at the front. For us this was primarily a historic rally which saw Nick Elliott & Dave Price dominate the field, with only Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey able to keep them honest. The next nearest contenders were over a minute and a half back with Seamus O’Connell & Dai Roberts making it an Escort MkII 1-2-3. 

In the Post Historics David Higgins & Ieuan Thomas took victory from Rupert Lomax & David Alcock by fifteen seconds. Behind the two Escort MkI’s and beating the Porsches was Jeremy Easson & Alun Cook in the Ford Capri. In the Historics the top three were Ford free, with Jonathan & Graham Gale taking their recently acquired Sunbeam Tiger to 1st place, with Stuart Rolt & Richard Pomfret second in their Porsche 911. Graham Waite & Gill Cotton completed the podium in their Volvo Amazon. Read More »