Skip navigation

Tag Archives: McGrady Insurance MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

After 3 years away the Down rally was back and Jonny Greer took victory by 26s, co-driven by Dai Roberts in their C3 Rally2. 5 stage wins from 8 were enough to secure the win from Peadar Hurson & Damien Connolly (Fiesta WRC). The battle for 3rd was a close run thing with Cathan McCourt & Liam Moynihan (C3 Rally2) taking the final podium place by 3.9s from Jason Mitchell &Patrick McCrudden (Fiesta Rally2). Close behind in 5th and a remarkable performance too, were William Creighton & Shane Byrne in their Fiesta Rally3. In the 2WD section Damian Toner & Denver Rafferty (Escort MkII) took victory by almost 40s and were 10th overall too. Read More »


Derek McGarrity and Damian Garvey sealed victory at the McGrady Insurance Stages Rally, round two of the McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship!

Driving his newly acquired Ford Fiesta World Rally Car, Glengormley’s McGarrity led the Ballynahinch and District Motor Club organised event from start to finish with Draperstown’s father and son Mini WRC crew, Derek and Mark McGeehan, arriving home in second. Read More »

Competitors are revving up for this weekend’s Bishopscourt Stages Rally, round two of the McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK Northern Ireland Rally Championship.

The event, which is also sponsored by McGrady Insurance, has attracted more than 60 crews in their high-powered rally cars. They will tackle six stages around County Down’s Bishopscourt Race Circuit venue, including multiple runs over the spectator favourite jump!

Stephen Wright is the reigning champion and current championship leader after his victory at Kirkistown last month but he has been forced to miss the Bishopscourt event due to work commitments. Instead, former champions Derek McGarrity and Paddy Robinson will lead the field away on what has always been a strong event for the Skoda Fabia R5 crew. Read More »

Our first trip to Northern Ireland saw us take in the Down Rally. The stages have featured many times over the years on the Circuit of Ireland and Ulster Rallies, with Hamilton’s Folly being the stand out. Jonny Greer & Kirsty Riddick (DS3 R5) stole a march on the rest by setting some blistering times on the opening loop ahead of David Bogie & John Rowan (Fabia R5) with Desi Henry & Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5) further back after sustaining damage on landing off one of the big jumps. Greer held his lead through the 2nd loop of stages as Henry closed in on Bogie and passed him. Bogie did sneak back ahead but retired before the last loop of stages. Read More »