Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Miller Oils BTRDA 1400 Championship

The BTRDA championship moved into the 2nd half of the season with the Dukeries Rally as it welcomed back 2010 Gold Star Champions Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC). Looking to emulate the great Roger Clark, Perez was attempting to be only the 2nd driver to take a hat trick of consecutive wins and be the first driver to record 4 wins on the event. This would prove to be no mean feat with a quality field assembled behind him. It was Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) who struck first to lead after stage 1 and with the top 6 crews beating the bogey on stage 2 nothing changed. Burton then continued to extend his lead second by second, but with 4 stages where the bogey was beaten the rally was a case of what if for the other crews. Read More »

Another thrilling climax to a BTRDA rally with the overall victory coming down to a stall at the start of the final stage. Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) had been leading all event until the final stage where they clipped a bank and fell back to 2nd place, just 4 seconds behind Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC). With one stage of less than two miles to go it was Hunter who stalled at startline and Burton knew victory could be his with a clean run. He duly took 9 seconds out of Hunter to win by 5 seconds. Charlie Payne & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) completed the podium places with a good solid run, just over 30 seconds back. Read More »

Another fantastic day down in Somerset for the 3rd round of the 2011 BTRDA rally championship. Starting first in the main field were Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) who took an initial lead only for Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) to push past them by 1 second overall into first service. Porlock followed and Burton lost time on his less favoured surface and fell behind Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC) also. Hunter held an 8 second lead over Chilman and 11 seconds over Burton after Porlock but then came the push. Chilman halved the gap in two stages and Burton was only a second further back, then on Croydon both Burton & Chilman clawed back the margin so all 3 crews went into the final two stages level. Read More »

Round 2 of the BTRDA championship saw the crews head to the Lake District for what would prove to be a gripping battle. Fastest out of the box were Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) who set fastest times over the first two stages taking a healthy lead into the first Greystoke stage. Sadly the gearbox gave up in Greystoke and Hunter retired from what was a very promising position. Taking over in the lead with fastest time on stage 3 was Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth). Burton went into Grizedale with a 12 second lead over Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) and came out with a 4 second lead over Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC). Read More »

The last Wyedean for the Peugeot Cosworth of Andy Burton & Robin Kellard and it duly proved to be a fairy tale ending as the crew took an emotional victory. The event had started out with Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) taking an early lead over the first stage before Burton took the lead on stage 3 with 2nd fastest time. Meanwhile Paul Bird & Kirsty Riddick (Focus WRC) went fastest on stage 3 to be tied 2nd place overall with Hunter. Stage 5 saw Burton go fastest to take a lead which held until the end of the rally, whilst Hunter had a minor off which enabled Bird to take 2nd overall with Hunter completing the podium. Read More »

That end of term feeling was with us once again as the BTRDA Rally Championship reached its final round, the Cambrian. With a very impressive entry it mattered little that most of the titles had already been decided. In the main rally Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) made a welcome return to the series and at first service were leading by 9 seconds from 2010 Gold Star Champions Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC). But disaster then struck on stage 3 as Hunter lost almost a minute and a half and with that the battle for victory was over. Perez managed the gap and cruised to BTRDA round win number 6 in 2010. Hunter was a creditable 2nd and with any other likely contenders for victory falling off or out of the rally, Alex Allingham & Mark Glennerster brought their group N Impreza home in 3rd sealing the Welsh Championship too. Read More »

With the ANCRO and BTRDA championships coming together on the Woodpecker rally for the 2nd year in succession, there was an awesome entry for the Ludlow based event. It also proved to be very decisive in the championships too with Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) taking the BTRDA Gold Star title, courtesy of their victory on this rally. Jonny Milner & Ian Windress (Corolla WRC) were 4th overall but top ANCRO crew to secure the National gravel championship. In the Silver Star Jon Ballinger (Manta) came home 3rd registered crew to secure the drivers title, (the co-drivers title will go down to the Cambrian), and lastly Matt Edwards (MG ZR) took the 1400 championship with a convincing victory after his only rival for the championship Darren Pinchin retired on the first stage. The 1400 co-drivers title will go down to the wire though as Edwards will try and secure enough points for Sam Collis to take the spoils whilst Pinchin will salvage something from the season if Karen Watts can grab the title at the last round. Read More »

The BTRDA championship made its annual visit to the Epynt ranges for the Quinton Stages. The rally has not always enjoyed the type of weather you would expect with being held in July and 2010 was an overcast and showery affair. At the head of the field Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) took a commanding victory, taking the lead of the BTRDA championship in the process. Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) had been leading up until the end of stage 3 but Perez pushed through on stage 4 before Burton’s engine expired at the end of stage 5. James Belton & Eurig Evans (Impreza WRC) were second with Patrick Naylor & Ian Lawrence (Evo IX) a fine 3rd overall and 1st in group N. Read More »

A sad day in the East Midlands as rallying lost one of its shining lights. Martyn Lewis tragically lost his life in an accident on stage 7 of the Dukeries Rally. Our condolences go to his family, including his brother and co-driver Richard who is now recuperating at home. After the events of the day all the crews were very humble and the results took second place. In the rally Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) took victory. Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard were leading by 15 seconds after stage 4 but they retired from the event as a precaution following the engine overheating during the 3rd and 4th stages. 2nd overall were Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) just pipping Damian Cole & Craig Drew (Accent WRC) on the final stage, after steadily increasing their pace all day. Read More »

Another BTRDA round and another Andrew Burton and Steve Perez clash! It was effectively over on stage 1 though as Perez, co-driven by Paul Spooner in the Focus WRC, made a bad tyre choice and a superb drive from Burton, co-driven by Robin Kellard in the Peugeot Cosworth, saw the Herefordhsire farmer take 21 seconds out of his rival. The final victory margin was 25 seconds as Burton and Perez continued to exchange fastest stage times throughout the rest of the event, but the damage was done on stage 1. Mirroring the result from the Somerset Stages, the final podium place went to David Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX) a minute further back. Read More »