Skip navigation

Tag Archives: MSA Gravel Rally championship

The Association of National Championship Rally Organisers (ANCRO) held their annual awards ceremony earlier today in Stratford-upon-Avon to recognise the champions from the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship.

And whilst celebrations were the order of the day, following many years as organisers of the National series, this was to be the last one so it was especially poignant as outright champions for 2010; Jonny Milner and Ian Windress collected their awards from MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton. Read More »

Ripon driver Charlie Payne and York co driver Craig Thorley performed faultlessly on this weekend’s Trackrod National Rally to end the 2010 MSA National Gravel Rally Championship in fine style with a dominant victory. Read More »

Once again our main focus on this trip was the BHRC runners and the conclusion of Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship. With the title going down to a three way battle between David Stokes, Dessie Nutt and  Jonathan Gale there was plenty to play for. After the first stage it was already down to a battle between two as Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride retired their Porsche 911. Gale, co-driven by James Whitaker, now had to hold his nerve and concentrate on finishing and hoping someone could beat Stokes in category 2. Gale took the Historic section of the rally but only just by 1.8s from Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Amazon). In the post Historics Stefaan Stouf & Joris Erard (Escort MkI) returned to the British forests to follow up their 2009 win on the Trackrod, also taking a fine 3rd overall behind the leading two Escort MkII’s. Read More »

The Association of National Championship Rally Organisers (ANCRO) is pleased to announce details for the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship Awards Lunch.

The venue:
Macdonald Alveston Hotel
Clopton Bridge
CV37 7HP
Tel: +44 (0)844 879 9138 Read More »

Former double British Rally Champion Jonny Milner and co driver Ian Windress took maximum championship points on the Sixty & Worcestershire National Rally today to take their third victory of the season and in doing so wrapped up the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship with one round remaining. Read More »

With the ANCRO and BTRDA championships coming together on the Woodpecker rally for the 2nd year in succession, there was an awesome entry for the Ludlow based event. It also proved to be very decisive in the championships too with Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) taking the BTRDA Gold Star title, courtesy of their victory on this rally. Jonny Milner & Ian Windress (Corolla WRC) were 4th overall but top ANCRO crew to secure the National gravel championship. In the Silver Star Jon Ballinger (Manta) came home 3rd registered crew to secure the drivers title, (the co-drivers title will go down to the Cambrian), and lastly Matt Edwards (MG ZR) took the 1400 championship with a convincing victory after his only rival for the championship Darren Pinchin retired on the first stage. The 1400 co-drivers title will go down to the wire though as Edwards will try and secure enough points for Sam Collis to take the spoils whilst Pinchin will salvage something from the season if Karen Watts can grab the title at the last round. Read More »

The format of Rally Yorkshire, with international, national and regional championships all coming together under a single umbrella event is a blue print for the future of top level forest rallying in Britain, says event clerk of the course Rod Parkin.

Parkin, who has more than 40 years experience in the organisation of the sport, believes that major forest events will need to attract a wide range of championships if they are to survive. Read More »

A ceremonial start with autograph sessions and servicing on the famous Marine Drive will really take the 2010 International Rally Yorkshire into the heart of the resort town of Scarborough on Friday 24th and Saturday 25th September.

With regulations for the event now published and entries open, the organisers have released more details of how Scarborough is taking the rally to its heart, with the town’s newly re-generated harbour area featuring prominently in the plans for the rally. The rally is set to bring £3 million into the local economy at a time when the tourist season is heading into its closing stages. Read More »

The organising team of the Pro-Art Signs Swansea Bay National Rally and officers of Port Talbot Motor Club have with great regret and disappointment concluded that the rally, the fourth round of the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship organised by ANCRO cannot be successfully re-scheduled for 2010.

The event was called off at short notice in mid-July following news of a tree disease in the Vale of Neath that threatened large areas of Forestry Commission plantations and a request from the Forestry Commission to minimise the potential of spreading the disease. Read More »

The Pro-Art Signs Swansea Bay Rally, which was due to take place on 17th July in the forests around Resolven and Rhondda in South Wales, has been postponed.

Part of the route that is traditionally followed by competitors in this annual event goes through Welsh Assembly Government woodlands that are affected by the recent outbreak of the tree disease caused by the Phytophthora ramorum (P. ramorum) infection. Read More »