Skip navigation

Tag Archives: MSA Scottish Rally Championship

Ahead of the final round of the BHRC it was all still to play for with any of three drivers up for the championship. Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) had the lead in the championship but they also had the greatest threat from fellow category 2 contenders on this event. Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) looked good in category 3 and would be there to pick up the pieces if Reynolds failed to deliver. Then there was Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) who needed Reynolds to finish 3rd or worse and Elliott to finish 2nd or worse in their respective categories, whilst they won category 1. Elliott stormed into an early lead and with Nutt behind Rikki Proffitt & Phill Harrison (911), it was now a two way fight for the title. Read More »

Once more to the Scottish Borders where it was Keith Cronin & Marshall Clarke (DS3) who took a fine victory, albeit after a late scare on the 2nd run through the Bothwell stage. Thanks to spectators they got going again to win by just over a minute from Tom Cave & Craig Parry (DS3). Jonathan Greer & Gordon Noble (DS3) completed the podium making it an all too familiar clean sweep for the French marque. Read More »

We really do seem to have been blessed with fantastic weather this month and especially on this event, in recent years. The Border Counties was, however, all about the domination of David Bogie & Kevin Rae (Evo IX). They eventually won by almost two minutes. The battle for 2nd place was only split by 9 seconds however as Mike Faulkner & Peter Foy (Evo VI) took 2nd place after a dramatic re-build following his crash on the Malcolm Wilson 2 weeks earlier. Read More »

Our first visit to Aberfeldy for the Colin McRae Forest Stages was also the first visit for the BHRC crews and was also their championship finale. Conditions on the day of the rally were certainly challenging with heavy rain and fog blighting the stages. Unsurprisingly it was experience that shone through as Stig Blomqvist & Anna Goni (Escort MkII) took a comfortable victory from Simon Tysoe & Cliffy Simmons (Escort MkII) with David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) just behind in 3rd overall. However Stokes took the post Historic class victory and had done more than enough to secure back to back titles. His only challenger Rikki Proffitt, co-driven by Phill Harrison in his Porsche 911, broke a driveshaft on the final stage and retired from the event. They also needed to win their class and hope Stokes would slip up, neither of which happened. Read More »

After holding on to victory the day before David Bogie & Kevin Rae swapped to the trusty old Metro 6R4 for the Jim Clark Reivers and went on to dominate the event, setiing fastest time on all 7 stages that ran. Their victory margin was 71 seconds after what will probably prove to be one the most memorable rallying weekends for the crew. Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Evo IX) were best of the rest edging out Jock Armstrong & Barry McNulty (Impreza) by just over 10 seconds. Steve Bannister & Louise Sutherland (Escort MkII) took a close fought win in the 2Wd battle with just under 10 seconds covering the top 3. Read More »

After missing the Border Counties in 2010 we had to come back in 2011 for what is one of our favourite rallies. The stages may have been thin on the ground but what was on offer was trully challenging. Spending the day in Wauchope Forest it was plain to see that David Bogie & Kevin Rae are a class act in their Evo IX, winning by 34 seconds. 2nd overall were Mike Faulkner & Peter Foy (Evo VI) which is an excellent result given the disadvantage of their older vehicle. Completing the podium a further 34 seconds back were Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Evo IX). Read More »