Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Neath Valley Stages

SONY DSCA few showers peppered what was otherwise a sunny and blustery day down in the Vale of Neath. In the Historic rally Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) made up for a narrow defeat in 2013 to take victory by just under 20 seconds. A string of fastest times were enough to keep a hard charging Richard Hill & Steffan Evans (Escort MkII) at bay. Completing the podium were Meirion Evans & Iwan Jones (Escort MkII) just under 15 seconds further back. Tomas & Eurig Davies (Escort MkII) took the FIA class with David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) taking category 2 and category 1 went to Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Amazon). Read More »

SONY DSCA bumper entry across 4 fields saw the best entry for the Neath Valley Stages to date. The main draw would be the Historics and Martin McCormack & Phil Clarke (Escort MkII) took a last gasp victory from Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII). McCormack lost time on stage 2 losing quarter of a minute before playing catch up and getting back to just 1.1s behind Elliott, ahead of the final and longest stage of the event. McCormack gave it maximum attack through Margam ultimately winning by 0.7s. Jason Pritchard & Dale Furniss (Escort MkII) completed the podium taking the FIA class also. Read More »

After missing out in 2011 we were back out on the Neath Valley Stages which had two entries to raise the eyebrows, Juha Kankkunen co-driven by Nicky Grist and David Llewellin re-united with Phil Short. Both driving Ford Escort MkII’s they headed the field in the Historic event. Ultimately Llewellin came out on top after claiming this would just be a fun outing. Before he reached junction 1 of the first stage Short knew he was on it once again. Kankkunen came in 2nd almost a minute down with James Potter & Bob Duck (Escort MkII) the best of the rest, over a minute further back. Read More »

Glorious skies and warm afternoon sunshine bathed the Neath Valley Stages for its 4th running. Split into two events, Modern and Historic, the rally provided the only chance in 2010 to sample Rally GB stages like Resolven and Rheola. In the modern field Jamie Anderson & Jon Scott (Evo VIII) took the lead from the start and with the demise of Tom Cave (Impreza) and Sara Williams (Impreza) on stage 2 their nearest rivals were Dylan Davies & Dale Furniss (Escort MkI). Davies had a storming run through the penultimate stage to lead only for Anderson to snatch back the lead and victory on the final stage. Completing the podium were Neville Jones & Ian Capewell (Impreza) just pipping Julian Jones and Paul Wakely (Impreza) on the final stage. Read More »

neath2008_frontDamp weather greeted the crews for the 2nd running of the Neath Valley Stages. Mike O’Brien backed up his victory from 2007 with another convincing victory this year.

The event also saw 3 other sub-events take place. Who knows what might be in store next year?

Read More »