Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Premier Rally

premier14 (2)Robert Swann & Darren Garrod (Impreza WRC) made it 4 in a row on the Premier with a comfortable win of over a minute. Fastest stage times on all 6 stages were all the confirmation needed. The battle for 2nd, however, went down to the wire with Arron Newby & Rob Fagg (Impreza) edging out Karl & Guy Simmons (Impreza WRC) by just a single second. Simmons had snatched 2nd on the 4th stage but then dropped time on stage 5 before setting a blistering time on stage 6, going 2 seconds quicker than Newby. It was not enough however. Read More »


SONY DSCA mostly pleasant but overcast day saw a good days motorsport in Clipstone Forest as Robert Swann & Aled Edwards (Impreza WRC) took a convincing victory on the Premier Rally. Fastest on every stage said it all as they won by over a minute from Arron Newby & Rob Fagg (Impreza). Breaking up the Subaru domination were Jason Morgan & Jack Walby (Evo VI) over a minute further back in 3rd overall. In the historic section of the rally Jason Lepley & Howard Pridmore (Escort MkII) dominated and finished up 6th overall, when combined with the modern field. Read More »

After a clash with the Dukeries back in June the Premier ill prove to be our only visit to Sherwood in 2012. It proved to be a packed day and full of entertainment where we saw 2011 winners Rob Swann & Darren Garrod (Impreza) take back to back wins on the event. Fastest times on the first 4 stages saw them take a 26 second lead and a joint fastest time on stage 5 before dropping two seconds on the final stage made no difference to the result. In 2nd place were asphalt regulars Andrew Fenwick & Andrew Roughead (Accent WRC) who were using the event as a shake down for the car ahead of the 2013 season and they held off John Lloyd & Adrian Cavenagh (Impreza WRC) by just over half a minute. Read More »

Re-vamped into a single venue format following the cancellation of the 2010 event, the 2011 Premier Rally may well be the future model for Clubman forest rallying. It certainly provided plenty of spectacle and interest and saw a close battle for overall honours. After six stages Robert Swann & Darren Garrod (Impreza) took victory by 11 seconds, after setting fastest time on the opening pair and final pair of stages. Proving consistency is key Ian Joel & Graeme Wood (Escort Cosworth) were 2nd fastest on all but 1 stage to finsih in 2nd place overall with the podium being completed by the similar car of Richard Hill and Pat Cooper, who had set fastest time on the middle pair of stages. Read More »

Our penultimate outing of the year saw us head to Mansfield for the Premier Rally. The rally started much later than usual ensuring that the second half of the rally would be in the dark. This was an interesting variation to the rally which allowed a more leisurely start to the day. Michael O’Brien & Patrick Walsh took a dominant victory in their Focus WRC from the similar but older model of Robert Swann & Darren Garrod. Completing the podium were Phil Brown & Andy Bull (Impreza). Read More »

The third and final rally of the season in Sherwood and Hugh Hunter returned to defend his 2007 win.

This time it was Mike O’Brien he beat, in what is fast becoming a Cambrian shakedown for Hunter. In the historics it was the battle of the Lepley’s with Jason coming out on top.
Read More »