Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Quinton Stages

Round 6 of the BTRDA championship brought the crews to Builth Wells for the Quinton Stages. Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) were highly fancied to clinch the title and the event, but as it turned out they were off the ultimate pace all day finishing 3rd overall. Instead Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) slugged it out with Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC). The pair were joint fastest on stage 1 before Chilman took the 2nd stage but Payne was then fastest or joint fastest on the next 6 stages to win by 8 seconds. Chilman was clear in 2nd and as previously mentioned Burton was 3rd, which was enough to become the 2011 BTRDA Gold Star champion in the final year for his iconic car.

Read More »

The BTRDA championship made its annual visit to the Epynt ranges for the Quinton Stages. The rally has not always enjoyed the type of weather you would expect with being held in July and 2010 was an overcast and showery affair. At the head of the field Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) took a commanding victory, taking the lead of the BTRDA championship in the process. Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) had been leading up until the end of stage 3 but Perez pushed through on stage 4 before Burton’s engine expired at the end of stage 5. James Belton & Eurig Evans (Impreza WRC) were second with Patrick Naylor & Ian Lawrence (Evo IX) a fine 3rd overall and 1st in group N. Read More »

Quinton 09 (3)Bit of an odd day up on the ranges with warm sun and heavy downpours. Fastest out of the blocks was Will Nicholls who led from start to finish in his Impreza WRC, co-driven by Nick Broom. Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) were second after only really losing out on stage 3, for the rest of the event they were level pegging swapping fastest stage times with Nicholls. Completing the podium were David Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX), consolidating their championship lead.

In the Silver Star one driver shone, Joe Price, but sadly he went OTL on stage 5 although he continued through the rest of the event. The Escort MkII driver entertained every time we saw him. In the overall standings Henri Greham & Chris Ridge took victory by 13 seconds from Mick Jones & Dale Furniss. Just over half a minute back in third were Will Onions & Tim Hobbs, making it an all Escort MkII top three. Read More »

quinton2008_frontBack to rallying and the BTRDA championship. With several crews pulling out in the week leading up to the event Steve Perez took a dominant victory.

Behind him though the battle for the Gold Star crown was intense, with top points decided on a tie break

Read More »