Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Waterend BHRC Gravel Cup

The final results from the Mid Wales Stages will show a comfortable win for Nick Elliott & Dave Price in their Escort MkII but it had been a hard fought victory. In the morning wintry conditions reminded the crews that this was still only the first weekend of March. Elliott held only an eight second lead after stage 3 over Will Onions & Dave Williams (Escort MkII) but issues on stage 4 for Onions and shear pace on stage 5 gave Elliott the win. In the post Historics Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) had the perfect start in their new car. Their victory margin was 49 seconds and they would have been 5th overall. Then in the Historics it was a tighter affair as Paul Mankin & Desmond Bell (Lotus Cortina) won by 27 seconds. Read More »


The full schedule for the 2012 Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship has been unveiled.

The key change from 2011 is that the BHRC management team has taken the difficult decision to drop the Isle of Man Historic Rally from the main BHRC. The event will remain as a round of the Water End Asphalt Cup, but is replaced in the main schedule by the return of the Harry Flatters Rally on Epynt. The Isle of Man’s place in the full BHRC will be reviewed again for 2013. Read More »

Round five of the Water End Properties Gravel Cup ran on the Pro-Art (Signs) Swansea Bay Historic Rally (Saturday 16 July) and delivered a debut overall victory for Richard Lane and Frank Richer in their Ford Escort Mk2.

This was a new event to the championship and, after a start at the Liberty Stadium, took in stages in Rheola and Walters forming legs one and two (with service after each pair of stages). Crews would then head east of the A465 to take in two runs over a 7.5-mile test in Rhondda, prior to returning to the finish at the Liberty Stadium. Read More »

Round five of the Water End Properties Gravel Cup will run on the Pro-Art Signs Swansea Bay Historic Rally on Saturday (16 July).

Although not a full round of the Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship, the event will be contested by crews chasing the gravel element of the BHRC. Following the opening four gravel rounds of the BHRC, the Gravel Cup continues on the Swansea Bay and then concludes with the McRae Stages on 1 October. Read More »

With the ANCRO long since gone the Historic crews took the limelight on the Severn Valley Rally. It proved to be an epic battle as the two pre-event favourites suffered on stage 1. Nick Elliott & Chris Brooks retired their Escort MkII after a roll early on during the stage, whilst Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey punctured a tyre in their Escort MkII. It then led to a fightback that almost paid off. In the end Will Onions & Dave Williams had to drive the wheels off their  Escort MkII over the last two stages, and they held on to win by just 0.3s from Reynolds & Oakey. As if that wasn’t enough Tim Pearcey & Neil Shanks (Escort MkII) caught and passed Rob Smith & Shaun O’Gorman (Chevette) on the final stage to take third place by just 0.7s. Read More »

Another year and another Bulldog rally and this time we did get to see the BRC crews but not until we had caught the BHRC crews twice. In the headline event Elfyn Evans took his first major victory, co-driven by Andrew Edwards in his Impreza N15. In the Historic’s Nick Elliott & Chris Brooks (Escort MkII) built up a comfortable lead and kept Julian Reynolds in check through the last few stages. Matt Edwards & Sam Collis (MG ZR) were easy winners in the BRC Challenge with last but by no means least Shaun Gardener & Ben Innes (Evo 5.9) won the National rally by just 2.6 seconds. Read More »

The schedule for TV coverage of the Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship has been announced, with dedicated hour-long programmes on Motors TV following each round as well as an extended end-of-season review programme.

The broadcast dates for the first showing of each programme are as follows:
Mid Wales Stages: Sunday 27 March at 9.30pm
Bulldog Historic Rally: Saturday 23 April at 9pm
Pirelli Historic Rally: Saturday 28 May at 8.30pm
Severn Valley Historic Stages: Sunday 26 June at 9.30pm
Ulster Historic Rally: Sunday 18 September at 6.55pm
Tour of Flanders: Sunday 9 October at 10pm
Colin McRae Stages: Saturday 22 October at 9.30pm
Isle of Man Historic Rally: Sunday 20 November at 9pm Read More »

A winning margin of just one second over some of the finest gravel stages in Britain got the Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship off to a superb start on the Rally Marketing Mid Wales Historic Stages (Sunday 6 March.

While Julian Reynolds and Ian Oakey pipped Nick Elliott and Chris Brooks in category three with a last stage charge, other category wins went to David Stokes/Guy Weaver and Simon Wallis/Graham Wride after a fabulous day of competition. Read More »

The Mid Wales Stages moved from its traditional slot of July to March and became the opening round of the Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship in 2011 and it did not fail to disappoint. The battle at the top end was always going to be about the classic entries and Nick Elliott & Chris Brooks set the initial pace in their Escort MkII. Close behind were Julian Reynolds and Ian Oakey (Escort MkII) and going into the final stage just 4 seconds separated the two crews, after Reynolds had narrowed the gap over the previous stages. As they went out of view on our point on Myherin, Reynolds was only one second faster then Elliott and looked set for 2nd place but somehow in the final few miles he pulled out another 4 seconds to win by just a second! A fantastic end to the opening round. Read More »

David Stokes and Guy Weaver picked up the major awards from the 2010 Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship during the annual Historic Rally Car Register awards evening in Daventry on Saturday (19 February 2011).

Stokes and Weaver set the seal on a mighty season by taking both the overall BHRC awards and the Waterend Asphalt Cup. The other category winner awards went to Jonathan Gale/James Whitaker and Rob Smith/Shaun O’Gorman, while the Waterend Gravel Cup went to Nick Elliott and Dave Price. Read More »