Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Welsh Gravel Championship

With the ANCRO long since gone the Historic crews took the limelight on the Severn Valley Rally. It proved to be an epic battle as the two pre-event favourites suffered on stage 1. Nick Elliott & Chris Brooks retired their Escort MkII after a roll early on during the stage, whilst Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey punctured a tyre in their Escort MkII. It then led to a fightback that almost paid off. In the end Will Onions & Dave Williams had to drive the wheels off their  Escort MkII over the last two stages, and they held on to win by just 0.3s from Reynolds & Oakey. As if that wasn’t enough Tim Pearcey & Neil Shanks (Escort MkII) caught and passed Rob Smith & Shaun O’Gorman (Chevette) on the final stage to take third place by just 0.7s. Read More »

After a murky start the Coracle Stages ended up in glorious weather conditions. The top three took on a very different character after the final stage. Martyn & Ian England (Evo IX) held the lead but a final stage retirement saw Tom Cave & Craig Parry (Impreza) take a maiden victory. Cave had set fastest times on the opening two stages of the rally as the leading pair pulled away from the rest of the field. Sara Williams & Dai Roberts (Impreza) were delighted with 2nd overall at a venue Williams doesn’t feel suits her driving style. Completing the podium should have been Emyr Morgan & Emyr Hall (Impreza) but they retired on the final stage letting Wug Utting & Michael Ainsworth (Impreza) take the final podium place. Read More »

Another glorious day in mid Wales for dust and midges on the Severn Valley Rally. Whilst the field may have been small in the National rally there was an intense battle for the top spot with Jonny Milner & Ian Windress (Corolla WRC) just beating Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield (Impreza WRC) by just over ten seconds, after they exchanged fastest stage times throughout the event. 3rd place was keenly fought too as going into the final pair of stages Tom Cave & Ieuan Thomas (Satris Neo S2000) held third from Stephen Petch & John Richardson (Accent WRC) with Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) close behind in 5th. On the penultimate stage Petch snatched 3rd place from Cave with Payne closing in also, then on the final test Payne grabbed the final podium spot by just over a second leaving Petch 4th and Cave a highly creditable 5th in only his 2nd event in the S2000 car against WR cars. Read More »