Skip navigation

The conclusion of the Protyre Asphalt Rally Championship saw 3 drivers fighting for the title. It would have been 4 had the Three Shires not been cancelled, as the countback denied Neil Roskell the chance to fight for the title he won in 2021. Mark Kelly & Neil Colman (Fabia R5) were fastest through SS1 and with SS2 cancelled they continued on through the rain soaked and flooded stages to the frist running of the Lhen. They went off in the appauling conditions and handed the lead to Peter Taylor & Jack Morton (Fiesta WRC). Neil Roskell & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta R5) had a point to prove and they went fastest through SS4 to grab the lead from Taylor.

With rain gone the stages were less treacherous for the 2nd leg and Andrew Purcell & Andy Hayes (Fabia R5) were fastest through SS7 & SS8 to grab the lead but it was short lived as they went off on SS9, handing the rally lead back to Roskell. On to day 2 and it was largely clear and dry and Taylor set about chasing Roskell down. Taylor went fastest or joint fastest on the opening 4 stages to grab the lead by service. Taylor and Roskell shared the afternoon stages but Taylor had enough in hand to take the win by 31s.

The battle for 3rd place was no less intense as it was for the championship. Steve Wood & Dale Bowen (Fiesta WRC) ended up 3rd overall and took the title with John Stone & Laura Connell (Polo R5) 4th, 47s behind and just missing out on the title. Completing the top 5 were Steve Simpson & Patrick Walsh (Fiesta Rally2). 6th overall and 1st 2WD crew home were Darren Atkinson & Phil Sandham (Escort MkII), only 15s behind Simpson.

%d bloggers like this: