Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: March 2017

A dank and dreary day in Walters seemed a World away from the weather conditions we experienced in 2016, on the corresponding weekend. Still the competition was more intense, largely due to a fantastic entry. The route was good too as the proportion of category one tracks used was down slightly and those used were frequently interspersed with more challenging sections. Chris Bird once again starred in his Milner Protruck with some entertaining driving all day, on full attack all event. Read More »


With no MSA Asphalt Championship running in the 2017 the Tour of Epynt saw a smaller entry then usual but no less drama. Damian Cole & Paul Morris (Fiesta WRC) started as car 1 and after the first two loops of stages were tied for the lead with Bob Fowden & Paul Wakely (Impreza WRC). A slight off for Fowden at fourways, on stage 5, looked to hand the advantage to Cole but he retired in the stage leaving Fowden clear for a comfortable victory. In the end fastest time on the final two stages saw a victory margin of 1 minute and 34 seconds. Read More »

Dark ominous clouds hung over the Northern Lakes for the Malcolm Wilson Rally which saw David Bogie & Kevin Rae (Fabia R5) take victory by 20 seconds. Keith Cronin & Mikie Galvin (Fiesta R5) were fastest through the opener by a single second from Bogie, (which more than lost at our position with a run through a ditch and slight overshoot). Bogie hit back on stage 2 to take the lead before the lead swung back to Cronin, courtesy of fastest time through stage 3. Bogie then went fastest on stage 4 before regaining the lead on stage 5, a foggy Grizedale North, with another fastest stage time. It was in Grizedale South that the win was made as Bogie took almost 18 seconds out of Cronin on that stage. Read More »

bovington17-3Our first visit to Bovington was an excellent one. Although we only caught the first day of the two day event we saw Steve & Yvonne Furzeland (Impreza WRC) establish an unasailable lead which grew to almost two and a half minutes by the end of the rally. Tim Self & Nick Vigors (Impreza WRC) were 2nd overall with Geoff Bennett & John Billett (Escort MkII) completing the podium, as well as being the first 2WD crew. It was also the opening round of the 2017 RAC championship which saw Jerry Bailey & Graham Lacey (Escort MkII) holding on to their day one lead, finishing 19 seconds ahead of Neil Williams & John Morgan (Escort MkII). Roger Moran & Paul Morris (BMW M3) completed the RAC podium. Read More »