Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: March 2010

This weekend round two of the 2010 Citroën Racing Trophy Ireland kicks off on the prestigious Circuit of Ireland International Rally, Ireland’s best known rally. It is also round two of the Citroën Irish Tarmac Rally Championship, with Citroën lending its support to Ireland’s premier rally series. No less than eleven Citroën Racing Trophy competitors will set off from the Dundalk start on Saturday for two days of intense competition, which includes a challenging eighteen mile night stage, which actually uses part of a main road, one of the elements of closed road rallying in Ireland. Read More »

After the opening sortie on the south coast with the traditional Rallye Sunseeker last month, the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship heads into more traditional rally country for the remainder of the season and with it lots of interest, particularly in the Viking Motorsport Ford Escort Challenge. Read More »

Bas van Kamperdijk claimed a decisive victory in the Tank S Rallysprint. Together with his co-driver Tim Rietveld they accumulated a lead of almost a minute in the Van Merksteijn Motorsport Evo IX. Read More »

Bernhard Ten Brinke has started the new 2010 Dutch rally season with the First victory in his short rally career. The young Dutch entrepreneur from Zeddam was together with his new co-driver Eddy Chevaillier too quick for all other competitors during the rainy Tank S Rally. Read More »

After returning from Central America, the Citroën Junior Team now heads to the Middle East for Rally Jordan, round three of the 2010 World Rally Championship (1-3 April). Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and Kimi Räikkönen/Kaj Lindström will be at the wheel of the two Citroën C4WRCs, and their objective will be to gain as much experience as possible within an unusual and testing event. Read More »

After victory in Mexico, the Citroën Total World Rally Team will unleash their C4 WRCs in the desert this weekend (1-3 April). Sébastien Loeb and co-driver Daniel Elena, the world championship leaders, are aiming for their 56th career success in the Jordan Rally to help boost their bid for the 2010 drivers and constructor’s WRC titles. Read More »

Mark Donnelly and Paddy Robinson blitzed the opposition on their Citroën Racing Trophy debut on the opening round of the 2010 Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship, Bulldog International Rally North Wales this weekend.

A perfect Irish cross border partnership, Donnelly coming from County Tyrone and Robinson from County Donegal, the pair set fastest times on all eight stages of the 100 mile gravel event in their recently acquired Citroën C2R2 Max. Read More »

After the long winter break Manx driver David Harrison headed to the first round of the 2010 British Rally Championship and Suzuki Swift Sport Cup in Welshpool on Saturday. With no time for testing prior to the rally it was straight in at the deep end for the Ramsey man who was trying a left hand drive car for the first time.

It wasn’t long before the dramas started, and Harrison was forced to nurse the car through the first two stages after the car developed clutch problems, losing several minutes. Following stages one and two through Myherin and Sweet Lamb David and new co-driver John Connor were able to head back to the Welshpool service area where the Jam Motorsport team successfully set about repairing the ailing clutch. Read More »

– Early exit denies JRM of maiden British Championship win
– Daniel Sigurdarson scores points towards BRC team award and finishes second in the Evolution Challenge

JRM went to this weekend’s Welshpool-based Bulldog International Rally of North Wales looking to score their first British Rally Championship win, but once again the team were denied their chance of victory when bad luck intervened in the early stages of the event, Gwyndaf Evans and co-driver Chris Patterson retiring when a gearbox problem stopped them going any further than stage two. Read More »

Just as they had done a year earlier, Nick Elliott and Dave Price stamped their authority on the opening round of the 2010 Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship, the Bulldog Historic Rally (Saturday 27 March).

While Elliott/Price (Ford Escort Mk2) dominated an incredibly strong category three, other key winners were Jonathan Gale/James Whitaker (Sunbeam Tiger) and Jeremy Easson/Alun Cook (Ford Escort Mk1). For the 80-car field, which was packed with quality, the Bulldog delivered a fabulous rally over some of the finest gravel stages in Britain. Read More »