Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Rally Photography

Constant drizzle and rain blanketed Kielder forest for the final round of the British Historic and Scottish Rally Championships. In the BHRC it two way battle with Matt Edwards & Hamish Campbell (131 Abarth) needing to win and for Henri Grehan & Dan Petrie (Escort MkII) to finish lower than 4th. Edwards was fastest through the opening 3 stages but Grehan was 2nd overall. It all fell apart for Edwards on SS4 though as he retired and Grehan went on to take the BHRC victory and the 2022 title, in 6th overall. Tom Walster & Glyn Thomas (Escort MkII) were the 2nd 2WD crew home with Adrian Hetherington & Ronan O’Neill (Escort MkII) completing the 2WD podium. Read More »


It was great to be back in the Forest of Dean and it was Matthew Hirst & Declan Dear (Fiesta R5) who dominated the event. They took 6 out of the 7 fastest stage times to take victory by 47s. Robert Wilson & Martin Haggett (Evo VII) were 2nd overall and took the only other fastest stage time. Nik Elsmore & Rob Fagg (Evo IX) took the final podium place. Michael McDaid & Declan Casey (Escort MkII) were 6th overall and the 1st 2WD crew. Tim Freeman & Cliff Simmons (Escort MkII) were 10th overall and over a minute further back. Ben & Steve Smith (Escort MkI) were 3rd 2WD crew, 12th overall and the first Historic crew home. Read More »

The conclusion of the Protyre Asphalt Rally Championship saw 3 drivers fighting for the title. It would have been 4 had the Three Shires not been cancelled, as the countback denied Neil Roskell the chance to fight for the title he won in 2021. Mark Kelly & Neil Colman (Fabia R5) were fastest through SS1 and with SS2 cancelled they continued on through the rain soaked and flooded stages to the frist running of the Lhen. They went off in the appauling conditions and handed the lead to Peter Taylor & Jack Morton (Fiesta WRC). Neil Roskell & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta R5) had a point to prove and they went fastest through SS4 to grab the lead from Taylor. Read More »

Osian Pryce & Noel O’Sullivan (Polo R5) added their names to the roll of honour of British Rally Champions, with victory on the Trackrod Rally. Theye were fastest on the opening 4 stages and despite a charge back from Keith Cronin & Mikie Galvin (Polo R5) they had enough of an advantage to secure the victory they needed. Cronin had to fight his way back up the order and ended up just 6.2s ahead of Ruairi Bell & Max Freeman (Fabia R5). In the 2WD class Eamonn Kelly & Conor Mohan (Fiesta Rally4) took the top honours in 6th overall. Read More »

The 2nd running of Rali Ceredigion saw the BRC tackle the closed roads and they were joined by former Hyundai WRC driver, Hayden Paddon. Paddon, co-driven by Jared Hudson (i20 R5), went fastest through the opening two sea front tests before Keith Cronin & Mikie Galvin (Polo R5) went fastest on SS3, taking the rally lead. The final stage of 4 would not prove so good for Cronin as he crashed out and most crews were given notional times. Paddon then took over the lead and 6 fastest times from the 8 stages on the Sunday saw him take victory by just under 40s. Osian Pryce & Noel O’Sullivan (Polo R5) were 2nd and 1st BRC crew home with James Williams & Dai Roberts (i20 N Rally2) completing the podium. Read More »

A bumper entry of 166 cars took the start in Ludlow for what would be a dusty affair in Mortimer & Radnor forests. Callum Black & Jack Morton (Fiesta Rally2) took the opening stage before Matthew Hirst & Declan Dear (Fiesta R5) took the lead with a stage win on SS2. Black regained the lead on SS3 and the pair were locked in battle until SS5 when the control arm broke on Hirst’s Fiesta and he was out. Black went on take victory by 54s. Perry Gardener & Jack Bowen (Fiesta R5) took 2nd on their local event with Elliot Payne & Patrick Walsh (Fiesta Rally2) were just 5s back in 3rd. Read More »

The Mewla may well have been out of the Protyre Asphalt Championship but it had a good entry and saw the return of spectators to the Epynt ranges too. Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Focus WRC) took an early lead on SS1 but Wayne & Gwynfor Jones (Darrian T90 GTR) took the lead on SS2 and then held the lead through the repeat of the two stages, to lead at 2nd service. Pritchard took the lead back on SS5 and held on to it until the end of the event. Damian & Charly Cole (Fabia R5) were on a charge through the afternoon, with two fastest stages and one joint fastest, to climb up into 2nd place, with Jones completing the podium. Read More »

After 3 years away the Down rally was back and Jonny Greer took victory by 26s, co-driven by Dai Roberts in their C3 Rally2. 5 stage wins from 8 were enough to secure the win from Peadar Hurson & Damien Connolly (Fiesta WRC). The battle for 3rd was a close run thing with Cathan McCourt & Liam Moynihan (C3 Rally2) taking the final podium place by 3.9s from Jason Mitchell &Patrick McCrudden (Fiesta Rally2). Close behind in 5th and a remarkable performance too, were William Creighton & Shane Byrne in their Fiesta Rally3. In the 2WD section Damian Toner & Denver Rafferty (Escort MkII) took victory by almost 40s and were 10th overall too. Read More »

In the midst of the BRC battle the crews descended on mid Wales and it was Osian Pryce & Noel O’Sullivan (Polo R5) who struck first. Keith Cronin & Mikie Galvin (Polo R5) hit back on stage 2. Pryce took the next two stages, taking the lead into service. Cronin took the first stage after service before Pryce hit back with two more stage wins. Pryce managed his pace through the final stage and won by 14.9s from Cronin, a much needed boost after the Jim Clark rally. Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Polo R5) went fastest through the final stage to snatch 3rd place from Tom Llewellin & Ross Whittock (Fiesta Rally2). Read More »

A new event for us and an absolute belter too as we visited the Argyll peninsular for the first time. David Bogie & Cameron Fair (Mini Countryman WRC) took victory by just over a minute from David Henderson & Chris Lees (Fiesta Rally2). Bogie took the lead after stage 4, the final stage of Friday evening and one that would prove pivotal. Mark Kelly & Will Atkins (Fiesta R5) were leading after 3 stages but the rain caught them out, as it did many crews, with Kelly having a huge off on the Otter Ferry stage. Michael Binnie & Claire Mole (Evo IX) completed the podium, with Freddie Milne & Patrick Walsh (Fiesta Rally2) 4th and Gordon Morrison & Hannah Davison (Fiesta R5) in 5th place. 10th overall and first 2WD crew home were Greg McKnight & Calum MacPherson (Escort MkII). Read More »