Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: July 2011

It had been a long time since we last watched on the asphalt up on the military ranges and as ever there was a bumper entry. In the main rally Peter Lloyd & Graham Handley (Impreza WRC) dominated to win the event by almost a minute and a half. 2nd place was a revelation though as Mark Straker & Neil Harrison took their Darrian T90 GTR to a fine 2nd overall in their first event in anger, for the new car. Completing the podium were Chris Jones & Carl Williamson (Focaru) a similar margin back on their first event in best part of a year. Read More »


Glorious weather bathed the Sweet Lamb rally facility for the 2011 Coracle Stages. Tom Cave & Craig Parry (Impreza) started out first on the road and eventually won the event by 80 seconds but it was by no means a formality. Barry Jones & Chris Williams (Impreza) were leading after two stages and after slipping back to second place over the next two tests, stage 5 saw their chances disappear as they went OTL. Dylan Davies & Andrew Litchfield (Impreza) had been third early on but a time consuming off on stage 3 put paid to a decent result, so it was Martyn & Ian England (Evo IX) who picked up the pieces to finish 2nd overall with Richard Hill & Pat Cooper (Escort Cosworth) 20 seconds further back in third. Read More »

Our first trip to Manby proved to be an entertaining one and the Opposite Lock Rally has marked itself out as a definite return for 2012. With the weather being fair in the build up to the event the crews got the chance to tackle the extensive grass and loose sections available at Manby. Tony & Emma Hewitt (Evo V) were seeded at number 1 and did not disappoint as they took victory by 21 seconds. The margin would have been considerably larger but they spent most of the afternoon with only 3 brakes working, making for some interesting handling characteristics under braking. Read More »

Round 6 of the BTRDA championship brought the crews to Builth Wells for the Quinton Stages. Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) were highly fancied to clinch the title and the event, but as it turned out they were off the ultimate pace all day finishing 3rd overall. Instead Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) slugged it out with Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC). The pair were joint fastest on stage 1 before Chilman took the 2nd stage but Payne was then fastest or joint fastest on the next 6 stages to win by 8 seconds. Chilman was clear in 2nd and as previously mentioned Burton was 3rd, which was enough to become the 2011 BTRDA Gold Star champion in the final year for his iconic car.

Read More »