Skip navigation

Tag Archives: McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK N.I. Rally Championship

Carryduff’s Jonny Greer and Welshman Dai Roberts have secured victory at the MJE Wheel Repair Specialists Tyrone Stages Rally, round four of the McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship.

Driving their Citroen C3, Greer and Roberts moved into the lead after the second stage and never looked back. They went on to set fastest times on six of the nine competitive stages to claim victory by 17.1s at the Cookstown Motor Club event. Read More »


Desi Henry and Paddy Robinson sealed a last-gasp victory at the Claudy-based Eakin Bros Brian James Trailers Stages Rally but it is Derek McGarrity who has burst into the lead of the McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship after round three of the hotly contested series!

McGarrity finished seventh overall at the event while a number of his main championship rivals, including pre-event series leader Jonny Greer, fell by the wayside. However, it was Kilrea’s Desi Henry who led the Maiden City Motor Club organised rally at the start. Read More »

The McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK Northern Ireland Rally Championship returns to action this Saturday with the Eakin Bros Brian James Trailers Stages Rally. Organised by Maiden City Motor Club and based near Claudy, 100 crews will tackle two closed road stages a total of three times as they fight for the rally spoils.

Heading the high quality entry is multiple rally winner Desi Henry. Navigated on this occasion by Paddy Robinson, the Kilrea driver won Maiden City Motor Club’s event in 2019 and 2021 so he rightfully leads the field off the start ramp in his Ford Fiesta R5.

A host of R5-powered crews will be hot on his heels. Unfortunately, Callum Devine has withdrawn his entry so Dromore’s Cathan McCourt is leading the charge in his Skoda at number 3. He and co-driver Liam Moynihan have enjoyed a number of podium finishes together but victory for the pair has so far been elusive, with McCourt’s last outright success being secured back in 2019. However, it is only a matter of time until it all falls into place for the potent duo. Read More »

Held at County Down’s Bishopscourt Race Circuit and organised by Ballynahinch and District Motor Club, Greer dominated the six-stage event from start to finish. He was inch-perfect through the morning’s slippery conditions, quickly building up a sizeable advantage and catching his rivals on the hop. Read More »

Round two of the McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship kicks into action this Saturday (12 March) with the Race & Rally Stages at County Down’s Bishopscourt Race Circuit.

Based a few miles outside Downpatrick, the Ballynahinch and District Motor Club event has attracted almost 90 crews to the popular venue with reigning champion, Jonny Greer, topping the entry list in his Citroen C3 Rally2.

Navigated by Darragh Mullen, Greer is targeting a third N.I. title this year. He got his 2022 campaign off to the best possible start with victory at last month’s opening round and leads the series by two points as he bids to secure a second consecutive Bishopscourt win. Read More »

Carryduff’s Jonny Greer and Sligo’s Darragh Mullen secured victory at today’s Orchard Motorsport Kirkistown Stages Rally, round one of the McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK Northern Ireland Rally Championship!

Greer snatched the lead from early leader Stephen Wright after stage two and stayed in front until the finish. Once the reigning champion was out in front, he never let go as he rallied his Citroen C3 home to secure the spoils at what was a tricky day at County Down’s Kirkistown Race Circuit. Read More »

Motorsport bursts back into action at Kirkistown Race Circuit this Saturday 19 February for round one of the McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship, the Orchard Motorsport Kirkistown Stages Rally.

Organised by North Armagh Motor Club Ltd, Stephen Wright and Ger Conway head a high-quality entry list for the six-stage event, which is open for spectators to attend, but two-times event winner Wright will have his work cut out as he bids to take his third consecutive victory at Kirkistown. Read More »

Callum Devine and Brian Hoy won this weekend’s Go Power Tour of the Sperrins Rally while Jonny Greer and Kirsty Riddick have secured the 2021 McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK Northern Ireland Rally Championship title!

Having won the title for the first time in 2017, Greer entered the final event of the season knowing that a measured drive would ensure his second title success. With an advantage of five points, he knew the pressure was on his rivals, allowing him to concentrate on staying safe and bringing the car home. Read More »

The battle for the 2021 McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK N.I. Rally Championship crown is going down to the wire this weekend when the contenders lock horns for the final time this Saturday (16 October) at the Go Power Tour of the Sperrins Rally.

The event was originally scheduled to host the penultimate round of the hotly contested series but November’s Tyrone Stages has been cancelled, ensuring that the 2021 champions will be crowned at the finish of the Magherafelt & District Motor Club spectacular. Read More »

Jonny Greer and Kirsty Riddick secured victory at today’s PRM Group/RPM Motorsport-backed Loughgall Stages Rally, round three of the McGrady Insurance Motorsport UK N.I. Rally Championship!

Based within the beautiful confines of County Armagh’s Loughgall Country Park, a capacity entry of 100 crews tackled six tree-lined stages. Championship leader Greer started the North Armagh Motor Club event as the number one seed in his potent Citroen C3 and was determined to make amends after his round two disappointment at Shackleton. Read More »