Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: February 2010

Rally driver David Wright, from Bentham, is aiming to get his 2010 rally season back on track on next weekend’s Malcolm Wilson rally.

Wright’s season got off to a bad start when mechanical problems forced him to retire his Mitsubishi Evo 9 on the opening round of the BTRDA rally championship, the Wyedean Forest rally, but hopes are high for a good result on the second round which takes place in the forests of Cumbria. Read More »

UK rally legend Russell Brookes is helping the Bulldog Rally organisers to recruit marshals by offering a prize for their Marshals’ Draw. One lucky marshal will win a ride in a rally car with the twice British Champion, at the Kick Energy sponsored Rally Show at Chatsworth on 5th and 6th June.

For the prize ride Russell will use either the Opel Manta that took him to the 1985 British Championship title or the Talbot Sunbeam Lotus which he drove on the 1981 RAC Rally. Both cars are still resplendent in the colours of Russell’s long-time sponsor Andrews Heat For Hire. Read More »

Defending MSA British Rally Team’s Champions TEG Sport kick off their 2010 campaign with drivers Keith Cronin and Euan Thorburn in action as part of the two-car Pirelli TEG Sport team on next Saturday’s Malcolm Wilson Rally.

The Carnforth-based team are using their local event as a shakedown prior to the opening round of the 2010 Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship which takes place later in the month with the Bulldog International Rally of North Wales, and the pair will be running the latest version Subaru N15s as course cars on the Cockermouth-based event. Read More »

Former national rally champion Paul Bird overcame an emotional week to record a fifth place finish on today’s Bournemouth-based Rallye Sunseeker.

Bird, from Penrith, lost his mother Isabel to cancer last week but following Thursday’s well attended funeral he vowed to contest the opening round of the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship. Read More »

Kick Energy rally driver Steve Perez overcame the disappointment of retiring from the event last year to record a superb podium placing on today’s Rallye Sunseeker in Bournemouth.

Driving the Ford Focus 07 along with Welsh co driver Paul Spooner, Perez, from Chesterfield, claimed a battling third place overall after 60 challenging stage miles on the opening round of the 2010 MSA Gravel Rally Championship. Read More »

After a deluge overnight we had a largely dry event down South. Marcus Dodd & Andrew Bargery (Accent WRC) were quick out of the blocks once again and after setting 7 fastest stage times out of the 10 run it was no surprise that Dodd took victory number 7, on the Sunseeker. The key battle was the one for second and Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) were holding a six second advantage over Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) going into the final stage. A brief spin and catching the master switch was enough to see Perez lose the best part of 20 seconds, as he slipped to third behind Burton. Read More »

Guy Wilks will swap the wintry north east of England for the hot and humid interior of Brazil, when the Škoda UK Motorsport driver contests Round 2 of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge, the Rally International de Curitiba (4-6 March), in his Fabia S2000. Read More »

The British Rally Championship is proud to announce the industry-leading manufacturer of paints and high performance coatings, Dulux Trade, as its title sponsor for the 2010 season.

The British Isles’ only international rally series will be called the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship from today (26/02/2010), and its association with such an esteemed brand reinforces the championship’s status as one of the most respected in the world. Read More »

Van Merksteijn Motorsport will have this Saturday during the Haspengouw Rally a unique international pair of champions at the start. Around the Belgian village of Landen, Dutch champion Bernhard Ten Brinke will team up with Belgian champion Eddy Chevaillier for the first time in the Ford Focus WRC 08 with start number 2 of Van Merksteijn Motorsport. Read More »

11th edition – from 30 May to 4 June 2010

2010 stages: Paris (Place Vendome), Val de Loire, Vichy (Aletti Palace), Ardèche, Le Castellet (circuit & hotel), Finish at Monaco (Fairmont). Read More »