Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: June 2009

Mid Wales 09 (47)It was another barnstorming event in the HRCR championship with the head of the field being dominated by the Escort MkII’s of Gwyndaf Evans & Gareth Roberts, Nick Elliott & Dave Price along with Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey. Something had to give and Reynolds dropped time with a puncture on stage 4 whilst stage 5 saw the demise of Elliott after a heavy crash towards the end of the stage. So it was Evans who took victory after being third at the half way point. Will Onions & Tim Hobbs came in second overall with the podium for the event and Classics being completed by Paul Griffiths & Sam Collis, (both in Escort MkII’s).

In the post Historics David Stokes & Guy Weaver were victorious from Rupert Lomax & David Alcock. Rounding out the the top three, making it an all Escort MkI affair, were Tim Jones & Don James. In the Historics Jonathan & Graham Gale (Sunbeam Tiger) took victory by just over half a minute from the Volvo Amazon of Graham Waite & Gill Cotton. Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride rounded out the podium in what was the only Porsche 911 entered in this category. Read More »


Midlands 09 (3)The Rally of the Midlands was one of attrition. On the opening evening Gary Le Coadou blew his propshaft on the startline of stage 4 at Mallory Park. By lunchtime on the Saturday cars 1-4 had all retired due to various reasons.  This left an interesting battle for the win with Mark Welch & Andy Wynn (Escort Cosworth) eventually victorious after a day long three way battle. Second place went to the Opel Astra kit car of Chris Wood & Stephen Ritchie some 9 seconds behind after taking a 10 second time penalty for a late departure from parc ferme. The podium was completed by Mark Holmes & Tony Lindsay (Metro 6R4) who were 56 seconds behind almost all of which could be accounted for by doing an extra lap at Bramcote in the morning! Read More »

Wheels 09 (56)The annual Wheels evening took place at Blus Lias pub in Stockton, once again run by the Coventry & Warwickshire Motor Club. A wide range of vehicles were on display with Volkswagen probably number the largest number of vehicles from a single manufacturer. Our favourite though had to be the gorgeous silver AC Cobra 427 which just looks good from every angle, even with rain droplets over the bodywork too.

There were various categories but the overall winner was the immaculate Triumph Dolomite Sprint which was probably in better condition then when it left the factory! Read More »

Dukeries 09 (1)Another dusty Dukeries but would it be the same if it wasn’t?! At the head of the field the rally was one of attrition as early leaders Will Nicholls & Nick Broom (Impreza WRC) retired on stage 2 and on stage 4 the new leaders Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) were on fire as they passed our position. Thankfully they stopped just up the stage to extinguish a small oil fire, the tell tale sign of transmission woes. Andy Burton & Shelley Rogerson (Peugeot Cosworth) would have inherited the lead had they not retired with a blown front diff, a junction further on in stage 4!

So Damian Cole & Tim Sturla lead at the halfway point, in their Accent WRC. But Steve Perez & Sam Collis pushed on in the afternoon, to take their Focus WRC to a 21 second victory over Cole. Six seconds back in third were Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Lancer WRC), edging out Dave Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX). Wright had been 2nd after stage 4 but wild with it. Still he now heads the Gold Star championship thanks to this result. Read More »