Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: July 2009

It has been nearly six weeks since the team’s last round of the IRC in Belgium but yesterday’s performance in the shakedown and superspecial stage, showed Kris and Paul had lost none of their speed over the break.

Read More »

Osian Pryce-Jauniba0916 year old Osian Pryce continued his steep learning curve with a strong run on the recent Jauniba Rally in Latvia when the young teenager, on only his second ever rally, finished seventh in class after a faultless run in his Renault Clio.

Pryce, who is a member of the Junior Rallying Scheme, is taking advantage of the fact that minors over the age of 14 are able to compete in stage rallies in Latvia. Co-driven by the experienced Craig Parry the pair overcame a misted windscreen and a slow puncture to finish the six stage event in 33rd position overall. Read More »

Having achieved an impressive total of four manufacturers’ titles, five drivers’ world championships and 58 victories, Citroën will continue its participation in the FIA World Rally Championship for the 2010 and 2011 seasons.

Citroën, who are currently leading the manufacturers’ standings, has confirmed that they will enter the FIA World Rally Championship for the next two years (2010 and 2011).

World rallying forms an inherent part of Citroën’s DNA, allowing the Company to showcase its utilisation of ‘Créative Technologie’.  The team has demonstrated Citroën’s engineering excellence, quality and desire to succeed on rally courses and special stages all over the world. Read More »

Welshpool based James Watkins impressed mightily on his gravel rallying debut when the 19 year old brought his Makefast and Rally Marketing backed Nissan Micra F1000 home 32nd overall and 5th in class on last weekends Coracle Stages, raising money for the Severn Hospice along the way.

Read More »

The television schedules for the third round of the Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship on FIVE has been confirmed, with the Race and Rally UK programme going out on the night of Monday 3 August. The hour-long programme starts at 2.10am.

The action continues with the full report from the Severn Valley Historic Rally, which included classic stages in the Epynt region of Wales.

Thanks to Dunlop’s increased backing for the championship, the five gravel events in the championship are being filmed by AMG TV and will be broadcast in the successful Race and Rally UK series. Read More »

meeke ypres09oThe next round of the IRC will be held on the island of Madeira from 30th July until 1st August. The Rali Vinho Madeira is round seven of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) and could be one of the most fiercely contested rounds.

With a one point lead in the IRC driver’s standings, Peugeot UK’s Kris Meeke will face stiff competition from a total of 21 other S2000 drivers, including current Portuguese Rally Champion Bruno Magalhaes. Both drivers will be in Peugeot 207 S2000 entered by their respective importers. The last time the two drivers competed together in the Azores, it was Kris who came out on top. Read More »

Chris Anderson Mercury Stages09County Durham rally driver Chris Anderson was in action at Ingliston near Edinburgh over the weekend when he contested the Mercury Motorsport Stages Rally and he came away with a fine 22nd place overall.

And whilst the 17-year-old maintenance engineer from Butterknowle near Bishop Auckland also managed 7th in class on this occasion, what was impressive was the result was achieved with his first ever drive in a four-wheel drive Group N car. Read More »

Coracle 09 (3)Another wet one up at Sweet Lamb, but not unexpected either. We managed to dodge the worst of the rain and the competition more than made up for the poor weather. After an almost faultless run in their Focus WRC Mike O’Brien & Sam Collis followed up there success on the Swansea Bay Clubman rally with another win, just a week later. Damian Cole & Ella Flynn (Accent WRC) were second after losing time on the first stage with a broken diff before mechanical woes struck again later on halting their progress. Completing the top three were Ian & Martyn England in their Evo IX. Read More »

hrcr pre-flatters09The daunting Epynt ranges in Mid-Wales are the venue for round six of the Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship, the S&G Printing Harry Flatters Historic Rally on 1/2 August.

For the second asphalt event on the schedule, crews will head to Brecon for the event that starts with two stages on Saturday evening and continues with a full day on the ranges through Sunday. Read More »

An agreement has been reached for Pirelli to continue as the Official Control Tyre Supplier to the MSA British Rally Championship for a further three years. Pirelli’s contribution to the Championship will ensure continued stability and the deal allows the Star Driver scheme to continue within Britain’s premier rally championship.

Dominic Sandivasci, Managing Director of Pirelli Tyres Ltd said, “I’m delighted that we have been able to continue our long term relationship with the British Rally Championship. This is good news for Teams and Competitors alike, as it provides stability and a foundation which will allow the Championship to continue to flourish. Pirelli is committed to developing young talent with a view to driving the sport forward and our new agreement allows us to continue to do this within the BRC.” Read More »