Skip navigation

Tag Archives: REIS Get Connected BTRDA Rally Series

Scott Faulkner end13aThe 2013 BTRDA Rally Championship season drew to a close in October on the Cambrian Rally. Unfortunately, the engine problems that Scott and the SFRallying team encountered on the previous rally had, as feared, put an end to their 2014 championship hopes. Additional sponsorship was desperately sought through the month of October as a new engine unit was required – however, the dream was over when the team realised that the initial 2013 budget would not cover a new engine and no further support was found to pay for the repairs. Read More »

Euan-Thorburn-with-co-driver-Paul-Beaton• Winners of Wales Rally GB’s Road to Wales initiative announced including Euan Thorburn from Duns, Berwickshire
• Full entry lists released for this year’s final round of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC)
• 164 crews confirmed as competing in the UK’S retvitalised and relocated WRC event

Wales Rally GB organisers, International Motor Sports Ltd (IMS), launched the ‘Road to Wales’ initiative in 2013 to give eight national rally drivers at the top of their game the chance to compete on Wales Rally GB during the finale of the 2013 World Rally Championship in north Wales between 14-17 November. Read More »

cambrian13 (10)Once again the Cambrian would see the Gold Star title decided. Straight out of the blocks were Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) who despite a puncture, were fastest through the opening stage. Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Focus WRC) were the only ones who could keep pace but when they retired on stage 5, Thorburn held a minutes lead and the title was in his grasp. He held on extended his lead over the final few stages to take the title on a count back after finishing level on points with Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC), who finished 2nd on the rally. This was after a close battle with Ollie Mellors & Craig Parry (Satria Millington) saw them retire after stage 7. Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza) completed the podium and sealed the group N title also. Read More »

trackrod13 (12)Welsh eyes were smiling as Osian Pryce & Dale Furniss (DS3 R3T) took back to back wins after their maiden BRC win on the Ulster Rally in August. This one was a different affair as they were in a fierce battle all event long and only beat Jukka Korhonen & Marko Salminen (DS3 R3T) by just under 10 seconds. Korhonen was by no means secure in 2nd as Alastair Fisher & Gordon Noble (DS3 R3T) were only 3 seconds back after some stunning stage times early on the Saturday. In the Rally Two category Daniel McKenna & Arthur Kierans (Fiesta) took victory by just under two seconds. Jon Armstrong & Karl Atkinson (Fiesta) just edged out Steve Rokland & James Aldridge (Fiesta) by just 0.1s on the final stage. In the R1 category Ban & Jason Mckay (Twingo) took the honours as the only finishers. Read More »

Faulkner Woodpecker13bWith the end of the 2013 Rally season now in sight, the BTRDA regulars once again, headed into Wales for what had the makings to be a fantastic weekend of rallying! The weather was warm, with a light breeze to blow away any lingering dust that would otherwise hang in the trees removing the possibility of visibility issues the crews experienced last time out on the Nicky Grist Stages. Read More »

Wales prize BRC– Battle hots up for eight prize drives on Wales Rally GB
– National competitors target FIA World Championship entries

Increasing opportunities for national drivers, Wales Rally GB organisers, International Motor Sports Ltd (IMS), is running a ‘Road to Wales’ initiative in 2013 which will give eight talented rally drivers the chance to compete on classic Wales Rally GB stages, between 14-17 November. Read More »

SONY DSCThe Woody didn’t fail to deliver as the last stage saw Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC) go fastest and turn a 4 second deficit into a 2 second victory. They had been playing catch up all day after Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Focus WRC) took an early lead and only lost the lead during the final stage. Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) were only 4 seconds further back as they pushed on the final pair of stages, over unfamiliar stages. Group N was tight too as Luke Francis & John Roberts (Evo IX) were tied with Jamie Anderson & Ella Flynn (Evo IX) going into the final stage but a push in the first two miles saw them 3 seconds ahead at our point and they kept this to the end to grab 4th overall too. Read More »

Faulkner Nicky Grist13Now into the second half of the 2013 BTRDA Rally Championship, Round 6 took the crews back into Wales and to the infamous Epynt military ranges for the Nicky Grist Stages Rally. 7 stages in the Cefn, Crychan and Halfway forest complexes faced the crews who made the journey to the event; based in the town of Builth Wells with the service area utilising the fantastic facilities of the Royal Welsh Showground. Read More »

nickygrist13 (10)On a truly scorching weekend the record books will show a comfortable victory for Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) on the Nicky Grist Stages. Coming in to stage 4 of 7 Elfyn Evans & Daniel Barritt (Fiesta R5) held a comfortable lead  before they pulled the car over with an alternator fault, towards the end of the stage. On the same stage Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC) rolled out of the event but Thorburn had moved ahead and into 2nd overall on the previous stage. Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Focus WRC) finished 2nd overall after being off the pace of Thorburn mid event and completing the podium with a superb drive were Sebastian Ling & Aled Rees (Evo IX) who just held off Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza) in the battle for group N honours too. Read More »

Round 5, and half way through the 2013 BTRDA Rally Championship was the Dukeries Rally, based in the lush surroundings of the Sherwood Forest area. More dry and warm weather was on offer as the crews, again, ready to compete on the 45 dusty stage miles the rally had on offer.Faulkner Dukeries13 Read More »