Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: April 2009

The Revolution Wheels Rally Team has committed to support the Greenerways Rally on Sunday 14th June, the first confirmed entries for this essential test event.
Team boss, Warren McKiernan, will co drive for Rob Swann in his own car, which Revolution Team driver Swann used on the recent Pirelli Rally. He will be joined by the team’s engineer, Geoff Jones, who will also stand-in for Swann for the Revolution Team on the next BRC event, the Jim Clark Rally. Read More »

As the MSA British Rally Championship has seen a new name at the top of the timesheets in the person of Keith Cronin, so it welcomes a new partner for the 2009 season – ATL (Ascott Transport Ltd).
Whilst ATL’s origins go back to the early 1930’s, the still family-run business that specialises in Warehousing and Distribution was founded in 1959.
Ideally located on the A50 in Derbyshire, and with half a century of experience within the industry, ATL is perfectly positioned to offer tailored warehousing, distribution or a complete logistics solution. Read More »

With just six weeks to go before the start of the biggest all-rally event in England this year, the variety of people and cars to be seen at the VK sponsored Rally Show at Chatsworth is increasing all the time.

In the nine rally events which form the competitive part of the Show, there will be at least two World Champions taking part. Stig Blomqvist will drive a David Sutton Ford Escort RS1800 Mk2 in the opening All Comers event on Saturday and again in the Historic Category C event on Sunday. Interestingly for British fans, Stig turned down an invitation to go to the Race of Champions event in Porto (to be held the same weekend) in order to be at Chatsworth. Read More »

apex-jaguar-pre-silver09The new Apex Jaguar XKRS is currently running through final testing in preparation for the first race in the GT3 European Championship at Silverstone on 2nd May. 

The new-look supercharged Jaguar, in striking Kyanite Blue, recently tested at a wet Donington with driver Johnny Mowlem, then again at Snetterton where it impressed the team with its improved performance and handling. Read More »

citroen-argentina09aSébastien Loeb, Daniel Elena and the Citroën Total World Rally Team made it five wins in a row and a maximum 50 world championship points on the Rally of Argentina over the weekend to extend their lead at the top of the 2009 World Rally Championship to 19 points.

It was an all round successful weekend for the Citroën Total World Rally Team when Dani Sordo and Marc Marti took second spot on the podium, just 73 seconds behind Loeb, to increase their lead in the Manufacturers’ standings. Read More »

neville-jones-somerset02Stone based Neville Jones made a strong return to the BTRDA Rally Series when he brought his Vulcan Fasteners backed Subaru Impreza N12 to the finish of last weekends Somerset Stages inside the top ten of the highly competitive production class.
Neville, with Ian Capewell rejoining him in the Geoff Jones Motorsport run Subaru, was returning to organisers route notes after a recent foray into the British Rally Championship where competitors are allowed to write their own ‘pace notes’. This meant that it took Neville and Ian a couple of stages in the morning to re-adjust and at the mid day service Neville was lying 25th overall and confident that he could improve over the following five tests. Read More »

matt-cotton-somerset01Cornwall based Matt Cotton enjoyed a successful outing on last weekends Minehead based Somerset Stages, the third round of the 2009 BTRDA Rally Series, and enjoyed a relatively trouble free run to second in class, and also took a podium position in the MG Challenge as well! Read More »

The Border Rally Sport crew of Garry Pearson and Ross Hynd kept up their strong start to the season with a fine drive on Saturday’s Station Garage Mitsubishi Granite City Rally. The junior competitors finished second in 1.6-litre class in the competitive Brick and Steel 205 Ecosse Challenge to stay third in the overall points tables. They also boosted their standing in the Hankook Scottish Rally Championship’s junior title race.

Building on a very sensible drive to third place on their last championship outing, Duns driver Pearson and Irvine co-driver Hynd hit the ground running on the Aberdeen-based event. Last time out, the junior crew were slightly disheartened to start the day down on their rivals – but there was no such disappointment on this outing. They stopped the clocks on the opening 4.7-mile Durris stage just seven seconds shy of the quickest 1.6 Challenge time, then proceeded to set fastest time for their section on two of the day’s six stages. Read More »

pr_gemsomrep01Albourne based rally driver Gemma Wheeler maintained her position in the BTRDA Rally First championship last weekend when she finished eighth on the Somerset Stages event in a Peugeot 106.

The opening stage saw Gemma and new co-driver Emma Morrison finish 15th in the Rally First class but they picked up the pace over the next four forest stages to move up to 11th at the first service halt of the rally. Read More »

pr_shel_somrep01Lancaster’s Shelley Rogerson got her BTRDA rally championship bid back on track last weekend (25th April) after taking third place overall on the Somerset Stages rally.

Shelley was partnering Andrew Burton in his Peugeot Cosworth and after retiring on the previous championship round, the Malcolm Wilson rally, the aim was for a good finish in Somerset. Read More »